2019 CNFC/Humber Literary Review creative nonfiction contest short list revealed!

Thanks to everyone who submitted to this year’s CNFC/Humber Literary Review creative nonfiction contest.

Our 2019 judge, Helen Humphreys, selected the following three pieces for the short list. The contest winner will be announced on June 14 at the CNFC annual conference in Vancouver, BC. Congrats to all the finalists!

“Foreign Object,” by Deborah Elderhorst

Deborah Elderhorst is an Australian-Canadian writer whose work has appeared in literary journals and anthology in Australia, New Zealand, and the US. Find her online at www.deborahelderhorst.com.

“Leaving Saskatchewan,” by Melanie Mah

Melanie Mah’s debut novel, The Sweetest One, won the 2017 Trillium Book Award, and her work’s been published in the Humber Literary Review, PRISM International, Room, and Brick. She’s currently at work on an intergenerational memoir and holds an MFA from the University of Guelph. Born and raised in Alberta, she now lives in Toronto.

“Fools Rush In,” by Julie Paul

Julie Paul is the author of the poetry collection The Rules of the Kingdom and three collections of short fiction, including the just-released Meteorites (B & G, 2019). She lives in Victoria BC, where, in addition to writing, she works as a Registered Massage Therapist.

Announcing the 2019 CNFC/Humber Literary Review contest long list!

Humber Literary Review and the Creative Nonfiction Collective Society are pleased to announce the long list for our 2019 creative nonfiction contest:

“How to Become a Woman Carpenter,” by Marcia Braundy

“Foreign Object,” by Deborah Elderhorst

“All the Cake I Never Ate,” by Sierra Skye Gemma

“Metamorphosis of My Mother,” by Carole Harmon

“Algebra Lessons,” by sonja larsen

“High Tension Line,” by Lina Lau

“Leaving Saskatchewan,” by Melanie Mah

“Fools Rush In,” by Julie Paul

“Surfing, Not Drowning,” by Shannon Rayne

“The Burn Unit,” by Alyson Soko

Congratulations to everyone who made the long list and a big thank you to all who participated!

Thank you also to competition readers: Nancy O’Rourke, Eufemia Fantetti, Christopher Moore, and Kirsten Fogg.

Watch for the short list announcement in May.

The winner of the contest, as selected by this year’s judge, Helen Humphreys, will be announced at the 15th Annual CNFC Conference, held in Vancouver from June 14 to 16, 2019.