carte blanche and the Creative Nonfiction Collective Society are pleased to announce the long list for our 2015 creative nonfiction competition.

“Schrodinger’s Dog” by Marion Agnew

“Blind Tigers” by Rebecca Andruchow

“Microphagia” by Jennifer Delisle

“Nana Technology” by Kirsten Fogg

“The Bubble” by Amy Hensch

“I Moved” by Elaine Johnston

“Mushrooms and Memory” by Monica Meneghetti

“Reading the Goldfinch” by Julie Pattee

“Montreal, I Love You” by Julie Paul

“Fallout” by Margaret Thompson

Congratulations to those who made the long list and a big thank you to everyone who participated!

Thank you also to competition readers: Myrl Coulter, Fiona Lam, Maria Schamis Turner, and Joel Yanofsky.

The shortlist will be announced on April 10th.

Judge Charlotte Gill will announce the winning essay for the 2nd annual carte-blanche/CNFC Contest at Saturday night’s Gala Dinner.

Charlotte Gill author photo

Charlotte Gillis the author of Eating Dirt, a tree-planting memoir nominated for the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize, the Charles Taylor Prize, and two BC Book Prizes. It was the 2012 winner of the BC National Award for Canadian Nonfiction. She teaches creative writing in the graduate program at the University of British Columbia and is currently faculty in Literary Arts at the Banff Centre. She lives on the Sunshine Coast.

The sponsors for this prize are: